Minister’s Office

PilaNinigi photo

We are entering a period of profound change in the higher education landscape of Papua New Guinea.  The Ministry of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology has a pivotal role to play in the creation of an enabling environment in which all institutions offering tertiary education programmes can flourish, not only to augment the social and economic development of the country but also provide lifelong benefits for current and future generations of students. 

It may be argued that higher education is a public good.  Yet there can be little doubt, set against the backcloth of the Higher Education (General Provisions) Act 2014, the National Qualifications Framework (Second Edition) and the National Standards for Higher Education Institutional Registration, that the Government of Papua New Guinea is determined, over time, that the quality of provision at this level will meet and exceed national and international expectations.

As set out in its Strategic Implementation Plan, 2017 – 2038, the mission of my Department is to reform, transform and unify institutions in Papua New Guinea.   Unification is a first order priority, to be achieved through a rigorous process of registration designed to ensure that all tertiary colleges and universities are benchmarked against the National Standards mentioned above.  Impoverished, lacklustre provision is unacceptable and antithetical to the expectations enshrined in Vision 2050.

As Minister for Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology, my sentiments and vision are closely allied to the guiding principles and Christian values of justice, truth and equity.  Faith and belief in the power of education to transform for the better individuals and society is at the heart of my daily work in the service of the people of Papua New Guinea.   In these precarious times, the precept of Proverbs 4:13b has much to say to those involved in higher education, ‘Your education is your life, guard it well’.

The Honorable Pila Niningi, LLB, MP
Minister for Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology